Legislation Text

File #: 20778, Version: 0

## IN THE COUNTY LEGISLATURE OF JACKSON COUNTY, MISSOURI

**A RESOLUTION** congratulating the University of Missouri - Kansas City School of Law on the 125<sup>th</sup> Anniversary of its founding.

- **RESOLUTION NO. 20778, October 4, 2021**
- **INTRODUCED BY** Tony Miller, Dan Tarwater III, Ronald E. Finley, Jalen Anderson, Crystal Williams, Scott Burnett, Charlie Franklin, Jeanie Lauer, and Theresa Cass Galvin, County Legislators

WHEREAS, the Kansas City School of Law was founded in 1895 as a private, independent law school; and,

WHEREAS, the Kansas City School of Law began classes in the basement of the New York Life Building in downtown Kansas City and established its first permanent home in 1926 at 913 Baltimore Avenue, a building which still bears the name "Kansas City School of Law"; and,

WHEREAS, the Kansas City School of Law was founded by members of the Kansas City Bar Association to provide an opportunity "for students too poor to leave the city to study law" and welcomed students "without distinction of sex, race, or citizenship" and the law school today continues to strive to open doors to legal education to first-generation college students, members of communities underrepresented in the law, and legal professionals from around the globe; and,

WHEREAS, the Kansas City School of Law merged with the University of Kansas City in 1938 and

affiliated with the University of Missouri system in 1963, with the mission to provide student-centered, community-connected, justice-driven legal education and research; and,

WHEREAS, the University of Missouri - Kansas City (UMKC) School of Law serves the greater Kansas City community, providing over 38,000 hours of free legal services to the community annually and sharing faculty expertise on the improvement of law and the administration of justice through scholarship, continuing education, and community engagement; and,

WHEREAS, the UMKC School of Law's alumni include a president of the United States (Harry S Truman), a United States Supreme Court Justice (Charles Whittaker), and countless federal, state, and local government leaders and judges, including County Executives Michael T. White, Marsha J. Murphy, and Katheryn J. Shields, and numerous other county leaders; now therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED by the County Legislature of Jackson County, Missouri, that the Legislature hereby extends sincere congratulations and recognition to the University of Missouri - Kansas City School of Law faculty, staff, students, and alumni as the law school celebrates its 125<sup>th</sup> Anniversary.

..Enacted and Approved Effective Date: This Resolution shall be effective immediately upon its passage by a majority of the Legislature.

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Chief Deputy County Counselor

**County Counselor** 

Certificate of Passage

I hereby certify that the attached resolution, Resolution No. 20778 of October 4, 2021, was duly passed on October 4, 2021 by the Jackson County Legislature. The votes thereon were as follows:

Yeas <u>8</u> Nays

Nays \_\_\_\_0\_\_\_\_

Abstaining <u>0</u>

Absent <u>1</u>

Date

Mary Jo Spino, Clerk of Legislature