Legislation Text

File #: 20040, Version: 0

IN THE COUNTY LEGISLATURE OF JACKSON COUNTY, MISSOURI

A RESOLUTION congratulating the Little Blue Valley Sewer District, on the occasion of its 50th anniversary.

RESOLUTION NO. 20040, November 13, 2018

INTRODUCED BY Tony Miller, County Legislator

WHEREAS, in 2018 the Little Blue Valley Sewer District will celebrate its 50th anniversary of providing regional wastewater conveyance and treatment services for the citizens of Jackson and Cass Counties; and,

WHEREAS, five decades ago, Jackson County experienced tremendous growth resulting in small towns transforming into suburbs, merging with an expanding Kansas City area and spilling over to the east onto farmland of the Little Blue River Valley, such expansions generating large volumes of wastewater which must be managed to protect the environment; and,

WHEREAS, the Little Blue River was unable to handle the large volumes of treated wastewater generated by the aforementioned expansions, said river being a valuable natural resource that provided water for livestock, water recreation, and fishing; and,

WHEREAS, the Little Blue Valley Sewer District was incorporated in 1968 by order of the Circuit

File #: 20040, Version: 0

Court of Jackson County for the purposes of eliminating the wastewater discharges into the Blue River, restoring stream uses, complying with regulatory requirements, and providing a collaborative solution for all dischargers within the Little Blue River Watershed; and,

WHEREAS, the District includes the Little Blue River, Mill Creek, Lazy Branch, and Lampkin's Fork watersheds; and,

WHEREAS, the Little Blue Valley Sewer District serves portions of Jackson and Cass Counties including the cities of Belton, Blue Springs, Grandview, Independence, Kansas City, Lake Tapawingo, Lee's Summit, Raymore, Raytown, and Sugar Creek, the Fort Osage School District, the Middle Big Creek Sewer Sub-district and the Lake City Army Ammunition Plant; and,

WHEREAS, the Middle Big Creek Sewer Sub-district is a separate geographic service area, first established in 1992 and expanded in 2008, that serves the cities of Greenwood, Raymore, Lee's Summit, and Lake Winnebago, unincorporated Cass County, and two sewer districts (Mullendike and Dikeland); and,

WHEREAS, the Little Blue Valley Sewer District is governed by a Board of Trustees consisting of eleven members, all elected officials from the municipalities and counties that the district serves (the Jackson County Executive, a Jackson County Legislator, the Cass County Presiding Commissioner, the Mayors of the five cities with largest flows, and Mayors from three other cities nominated by an advisory board); and,

WHEREAS, fifty years ago the leaders of political subdivisions within the Little Blue River Watershed

File #: 20040, Version: 0

faced and overcame a monumental challenge relating to restoring the river's water quality and uses, and devised a regional wastewater management solution that was in every participants' bests interests, both then and now, and created the Little Blue Valley Sewer District; now therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED by the County Legislature of Jackson County, Missouri, that the Legislature congratulates the Little Blue Valley Sewer District on the occasion of its 50th Anniversary and extends best wishes for the future.

Effective Date: This Resolution shall be effective immediately upon its passage by a majority of the Legislature.

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Chief Deputy County Counselor County Counselor

Certificate of Passage

I hereby certify that the attached resolution, Resolution No. 20040 of November 13, 2018, was duly passed on November 13, 2018 by the Jackson County Legislature. The votes thereon were as follows:

Yeas <u>6</u>	Nays <u>0</u>
Abstaining <u>0</u>	Absent <u>3</u>

Date

Mary Jo Spino, Clerk of Legislature