

## Jackson County Missouri

Jackson County Courthouse 415 E.12th Street, 2nd floor Kansas City, Missouri 64106 (816)881-3242

## **Legislation Text**

File #: 19520, Version: 0

## IN THE COUNTY LEGISLATURE OF JACKSON COUNTY, MISSOURI

**A RESOLUTION** authorizing the Sheriff to execute a Memorandum of Understanding relating to the Missouri Western Interdiction and Narcotics Task Force.

**RESOLUTION NO. 19520,** June 27, 2017

**INTRODUCED BY** Alfred Jordan, County Legislator

WHEREAS, the Missouri Western Interdiction and Narcotics Task Force (MoWIN) is a collaborative association charged with investigating and disrupting drug trafficking activities occurring in numerous communities throughout western Missouri; and

WHEREAS, participants in MoWIN include the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration, the Kansas City Board of Police Commissioners, which is the lead local agency, Jackson, Clay, Platte, and Caldwell Counties, and twenty-three other cities, towns, and villages in these counties; and

WHEREAS, MoWIN will continue to be funded by a grant awarded by the Missouri Department of Public Safety and administered by the Kansas City Board of Police Commissioners; and

WHEREAS, the attached Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) adequately sets out the rights and obligations of the participants in MoWIN for the 2017-18 program year; and

File #: 19520, Version: 0
WHEREAS, the execution of this MOU is in the best interests of the health, welfare, and safety of the
citizens of Jackson County; now therefore,
BE IT RESOLVED by the County Legislature of Jackson County, Missouri, that the Sheriff and any
other County officials required, be and hereby are authorized to execute the attached MOU relating

Effective Date: This Resolution shall be effective immediately upon its passage by a majority of the Legislature.

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

to MoWIN.

File #: 19520, Version: 0		
Chief Deputy County Counselor	County Counselor	
Certificate of Passage		
	esolution, Resolution No. 19520 of June 27, 2017, was duly son County Legislature. The votes thereon were as follows:	
Yeas8	Nays <u>0</u>	
Abstaining0	Absent <u>1</u>	
Date	Mary Jo Spino, Clerk of Legislature	