

Legislation Text

File #: 19040, Version: 0

IN THE COUNTY LEGISLATURE OF JACKSON COUNTY, MISSOURI

A RESOLUTION expressing support to the Kansas City Royals to extend protective netting to the end of each dugout at Kauffman Stadium.

RESOLUTION NO. 19040, January 11, 2016

INTRODUCED BY Frank White, Jr., Crystal Williams, Theresa Galvin, Tony Miller, Scott Burnett, Alfred Jordan, Dennis Waits, Dan Tarwater III, and Greg Grounds, County Legislators

WHEREAS, each year nearly 1,750 baseball fans are injured by foul balls and broken bats; and,

WHEREAS, in light of these safety concerns, the Kansas City Royals Baseball organization is applauded for its efforts to provide a safe environment for fans; and,

WHEREAS, the Royals organization is additionally encouraged to extend the safety netting to the area at the end of each dugout at Kauffman Stadium to provide the highest level of protection for its fans; and,

WHEREAS, the Kansas City T-Bones Baseball Club has already extended its safety netting in such a fashion; and,

WHEREAS, while purists may argue that screens will interfere with fans' viewing experience, advancements in materials used in baseball screens already allow for minimal visual obstruction for

fans sitting behind the existing home plate netting; and,

WHEREAS, the Royals organization is to be applauded for making fan safety its highest priority; now therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED by the County Legislature of Jackson County, Missouri, that the Legislature hereby expresses its support to the Kansas City Royals to extend protective netting to the area at the

end of each dugout at Kauffman Stadium.

Effective Date: This Resolution shall be effective immediately upon its passage by a majority of the Legislature.

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Chief Deputy County Counselor

County Counselor

Certificate of Passage

I hereby certify that the attached resolution, Resolution No. 19040 of January 11, 2016, was duly passed on January 19, 2016 by the Jackson County Legislature. The votes thereon were as follows:

Yeas	7	Nays	<u>0</u>
Abstaining	0	Absent	0
Excused	1		

Mary Jo Spino, Clerk of Legislature

Date