

Legislation Text

File #: 17922, Version: 0

IN THE COUNTY LEGISLATURE OF JACKSON COUNTY, MISSOURI

A RESOLUTION congratulating the Nativity of Mary "Beast" Basketball team on winning the 2012 league championship.

RESOLUTION #17922, June 11, 2012

INTRODUCED BY Dennis Waits, Dan Tarwater, Scott Burnett, Theresa Garza-Ruiz, Crystal Williams, Fred Arbanas, James D. Tindall, Greg Grounds, and Bob Spence, County Legislators

WHEREAS, the Nativity of Mary "Beast" basketball team won its 2012 league championship, having taken first place for three seasons; and,

WHEREAS, the team of eight-year-olds are all second graders at Nativity of Mary School, located in Independence, Missouri; and,

WHEREAS, the "Beast" basketball team competed and won against numerous competitive clubs and teams that recruited from all over the greater metropolitan area, including players from municipalities within Kansas and Missouri; and,

WHEREAS, the "Beast" is a team known in the league for unselfish play and for a group of players who work together for the benefit of the team effort; and,

WHEREAS, Nativity of Mary is a parochial grade school whose mission is to provide the opportunity

for youth to grow physically, psychologically, emotionally, spiritually in the image of Christ through the benefits of a positive athletic experience; and,

WHEREAS, the parents and friends of the "Beast" team members are proud of their accomplishments in school and on the basketball court; now therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED by the County Legislature of Jackson County, Missouri, that the Legislature hereby congratulates the Nativity of Mary "Beast" Basketball team on winning the 2012 league championship.

Effective Date: This Resolution shall be effective immediately upon its passage by a majority of the Legislature.

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Chief Deputy County Counselor

County Counselor

Certificate of Passage

I hereby certify that the attached resolution, Resolution #17922 of June 11, 2012, was duly passed on June 11, 2012 by the Jackson County Legislature. The votes thereon were as follows:

Yeas	9	Nays	0
	<u>~</u>	····	_ <u></u>

Abstaining <u>0</u>

Absent _____0_

Date

Mary Jo Spino, Clerk of Legislature