

## Jackson County Missouri

Jackson County Courthouse 415 E.12th Street, 2nd floor Kansas City, Missouri 64106 (816)881-3242

## Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 21222 Version: 0 Name: courtesy - Starr Women's Hall of Fame

Type: Resolution Status: Passed

File created: 3/29/2023 In control: County Legislature

On agenda: 4/3/2023 Final action: 4/3/2023

Title: A RESOLUTION recognizing the 2023 inductees to the Starr Women's Hall of Fame.

Sponsors: Manuel Abarca IV

Indexes: COURTESY 2023, STARR WOMEN'S HALL OF FAME

Code sections:

Attachments: 1. 21222adopted.pdf

| Date     | Ver. | Action By          | Action | Result |
|----------|------|--------------------|--------|--------|
| 4/3/2023 | 0    | County Legislature | adopt  | Pass   |

## IN THE COUNTY LEGISLATURE OF JACKSON COUNTY, MISSOURI

**A RESOLUTION** recognizing the 2023 inductees to the Starr Women's Hall of Fame.

**RESOLUTION NO. 21222,** April 3, 2023

INTRODUCED BY Manuel Abarca IV, County Legislator

WHEREAS, the Starr Women's Hall of Fame was established to honor extraordinary women from Kansas City who have made significant contributions to society through their leadership, activism, philanthropy, education, and volunteerism; and,

WHEREAS, the Hall of Fame serves as a repository for the legacies of these remarkable women, whose tireless commitment to community has made Kansas City a better place to live and whose stories encourage and inspire women everywhere; and,

WHEREAS, the Starr Women's Hall of Fame is named in honor of the late Martha Jane Phillips Starr, a Kansas City philanthropist and advocate for women's rights, who was a trailblazer in her own right

File #: 21222, Version: 0

and whose legacy lives on through the Starr Education Committee, her family, and the Martha Jane Phillips Starr Field of Interest Fund; and,

WHEREAS, the 2023 class of inductees to the Starr Women's Hall of Fame comprises eight exceptional women, Karen L. Daniel, Anita B. Gorman, Lea Hopkins, Alice Kitchen, Margaret J. May, the Honorable Claire McCaskill, Barbara Pendleton, and Freda Mendez Smith; and,

WHEREAS, Geena Davis, whose acting and activism have elevated gender parity, was the featured speaker at the March 21, 2023 induction ceremony held at the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts; and,

WHEREAS, these women have demonstrated extraordinary leadership and dedication to their community and their accomplishments in fields such as law, politics, education, and entertainment have elevated gender equality and inspired generations of women to pursue their dreams; and,

WHEREAS, proceeds of the event, co-chaired by Alicia Starr and Michelle Wimes, will go toward the development of the Hall of Fame archives, including the digitization and acquisition of materials that will ensure the works of these exceptional women are accessible to researchers worldwide; and,

WHEREAS, the Starr Women's Hall of Fame has received support from twenty-six civic organizations that advocate on behalf of women and family issues and its Wall of Honor is displayed at the UMKC Miller Nichols Library, providing a permanent home for the artifacts, images, and papers of the enshrined members; now therefore,

| File #: 21222, Version: 0  |
|--|
| BE IT RESOLVED by the County Legislature of Jackson County, Missouri, that the Legislature   |
| recognizes the 2023 inductees to the University of Missouri - Kansas City Starr Women's Hall of  |
| Fame for their outstanding achievements and honors their contributions to our community and  |
| beyond; and,   |
| BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Legislature congratulates the inductees on this well-deserved  |
| recognition and celebrates their legacies and work to create a more just and equitable society for all.  |
| Enacted and Approved Effective Date: This Resolution shall be effective immediately upon its passage by a majority of the Legislature.   |
| APPROVED AS TO FORM:   |
| Chief Deputy County Counselor County Counselor   |
| Certificate of Passage   |
| I hereby certify that the attached resolution, Resolution No. 21222 of April 3, 2023, was duly passed on April 3, 2023 by the Jackson County Legislature. The votes thereon were as follows: |
| Yeas <u>9</u> Nays <u>0</u>  |
| Abstaining <u>0</u> Absent <u>0</u>  |

Date

Mary Jo Spino, Clerk of Legislature