

## Legislation Details (With Text)

| File #:        | 1791   | 14        | Version:  | 0 | Name:         | Courtesy - Jeanie Cook |        |
|----------------|--|-----------|-----------|---|---------------|------------------------|--------|
| Туре:          | Reso   | olution   |           |   | Status:       | Passed                 |        |
| File created:  | 6/11   | /2012     |           |   | In control:   | County Legislature     |        |
| On agenda:     | 6/11   | /2012     |           |   | Final action: | 6/11/2012              |        |
| Title:         | A RESOLUTION recognizing Jeanie Cook of the Lee's Summit R-7 School District on the honor of<br>being named Lee's Summit School District 2012 Teacher of the Year. |           |           |   |               |                        |        |
| Sponsors:      | Bob Spence   |           |           |   |               |                        |        |
| Indexes:       | 2012 COURTESY RESOLUTION, LEE'S SUMMIT SCHOOL DISTRICT   |           |           |   |               |                        |        |
| Code sections: |  |           |           |   |               |                        |        |
| Attachments:   | 1. 17914adopt.pdf  |           |           |   |               |                        |        |
| Date           | Ver.   | Action By |           |   | Acti          | on                     | Result |
| 6/11/2012      | 0  | County Le | gislature |   | ado           | ppt                    | Pass   |
|                |  |           |           |   |               |                        |        |

## IN THE COUNTY LEGISLATURE OF JACKSON COUNTY, MISSOURI

**A RESOLUTION** recognizing Jeanie Cook of the Lee's Summit R-7 School District on the honor of being named Lee's Summit School District 2012 Teacher of the Year.

## **RESOLUTION #17914,** June 11, 2012

**INTRODUCED BY** Bob Spence, County Legislator

WHEREAS, Jeanie Cook, a kindergarten teacher at Pleasant Lea Elementary, was named the Lee's

Summit School District 2012 Teacher of the Year; and,

WHEREAS, Mrs. Cook has been with the R-7 district for eighteen years, and has a total of twenty-

two years of experience in education; and,

WHEREAS, as Teacher of the Year, Mrs. Cook is the recipient of the Cathy Paulson Heart to Heart

Award, funded by the Loren Paulson family in honor of Cathy Paulson, who passed away in 2010,

and she is a recipient of the Hertzog Leadership Award, established through the Lee's Summit Economic Development Council to honor Dr. Robert "Bud" Hertzog, a businessman and community leader; and,

WHEREAS, Mrs. Cook is a member of the International Reading Association - Lee's Summit Chapter, the Missouri State Teacher's Association, and the Association for Curriculum and Supervision; and, WHEREAS, she is also a member of Holy Spirit Catholic Church where she volunteers as a religious education teacher and a children's liturgy teacher; and,

WHEREAS, Mrs. Cook is the recipient of the three PEAK Grants through the Lee's Summit Educational Foundation for Literacy, which are designed to promote excellence and knowledge within the classroom; and,

WHEREAS, Mrs. Cook's husband David P. Cook, and children, Allison, Abbie, and Ashlyn, are justifiably proud of their wife and mother; now therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED by the County Legislature of Jackson County, Missouri, that the Legislature hereby recognizes Mrs. Jeanie Cook on the occasion of her receipt of the prestigious honor of being named Lee's Summit Teacher of the Year for 2012.

Effective Date: This Resolution shall be effective immediately upon its passage by a majority of the Legislature.

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Chief Deputy County Counselor

**County Counselor** 

Certificate of Passage

I hereby certify that the attached resolution, Resolution #17914 of June 11, 2012 was duly passed on June 11, 2012 by the Jackson County Legislature. The votes thereon were as follows:

| Yeas | 9 | Nays | <u>0</u> |
|------|---|------|----------|
| -    |   |      |          |

Abstaining 0

Absent \_\_\_\_0\_\_\_\_

Date

Mary Jo Spino, Clerk of Legislature