

Jackson County Missouri

Jackson County Courthouse 415 E.12th Street, 2nd floor Kansas City, Missouri 64106 (816)881-3242

Legislation Text

File #: 12030, Version: 0

IN THE COUNTY LEGISLATURE OF JACKSON COUNTY, MISSOURI

A RESOLUTION urging the National Association of Counties to select Jackson County, Missouri, as the host of its 2004 or 2005 annual conference.

RESOLUTION 12030, February 2, 1998

INTRODUCED BY Victor E. Callahan, County Legislator

WHEREAS, the National Association of Counties (NACo), a non-profit service organization representing more than 40,000 elected and appointed policy-making county officials, holds an annual meeting every July, and the projected attendance at the NACo annual conferences in 2004 and 2005 is 5,800, including the members of nineteen affiliated organizations which meet in conjunction with the conference; and,

WHEREAS, Jackson, Clay, Platte, Wyandotte, and Johnson Counties are active members of NACo, and local county officials have held leadership positions in NACo and its affiliated organizations; and,

WHEREAS, the NACo annual conference will stimulate tourism as well as generate an estimated \$6 million in revenue for tourism-related businesses in Jackson County, the five-county area, and the region; and,

WHEREAS, the NACo annual conference will raise awareness of the important role of counties in Missouri and the Mid-west; now therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED by the County Legislature of Jackson County, Missouri, that the Legislature urges NACo to select Jackson County as the host of the 2004 or 2005 NACo annual conference, and pledges that Jackson County will share in the financial responsibilities of hosting the conference, including a proportionate share in funding a coordinator for logistical planning in advance of the conference. Effective Date: This Resolution shall be effective immediately upon its passage by a majority of the Legislature.

APPRO	OVED AS TO FORM:	
		County Counselor
Certific	cate of Passage	
2		on, Resolution # 12030 of date February 2, 1998 was duly passed onFebruary egislature. The votes thereon were as follows:
	Yeas8 Na	nys0
	Abstaining0_Absent	_1
Date		ary Jo Brogoto, Clerk of Legislature