

Jackson County Missouri JOURNAL

Jackson County Courthouse 415 East 12th Street, 2nd floor Kansas City, Missouri 64106 (816)881-3242

County Legislature

Crystal Williams (2nd AL) Chair, Theresa Galvin (6th) Vice Chair, Garry J. Baker (1st AL), Tony Miller (3rd AL), Scott Burnett (1st), Alfred Jordan (2nd), Dennis Waits (3rd), Dan Tarwater III (4th), Greg Grounds (5th)

Tuesday, January 3, 2017

2:30 PM

First Regular Meeting

K.C. Legislative Assembly Area, Kansas City, Missouri

Crystal Williams, Chair, called the meeting of the Jackson County Legislature to order.

1 ROLL CALL

Present 9 - Garry Baker, Crystal Williams, Tony Miller, Scott Burnett, Alfred Jordan, Dennis Waits, Dan Tarwater III, Greg Grounds and Theresa Galvin

2 THE PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Recited.

3 APPROVAL OF THE JOURNAL OF THE PREVIOUS MEETING

A motion was made by Dan Tarwater III, seconded by Dennis Waits to approve the journal of the previous meeting held on December 20, 2016. The motion passed by a voice vote.

4 HEARINGS

None.

5 COMMUNICATIONS AND REPORTS OF THE COUNTY EXECUTIVE

Frank White Jr., County Executive, thanked Crystal Williams, Chair and Theresa Galvin, Vice Chair for their leadership in 2016. He said their hard work is appreciated by the Administration and offered best wishes going forward. He congratulated Crystal Williams for being the first woman to Chair the Jackson County Legislature. He also commended and thanked the County Legislature for their time and effort spent on the 2017 budget. He said the adopted budget includes the single largest increase for the Corrections Department, a 2% merit pool and does not terminate any county associates. He is looking forward to working together to ensure the infrastructure and technology needs are adequately funded and most importantly supporting Jackson County associates. He said it is a great day in Jackson County and he is excited to be County Executive.

Crystal Williams, Chair, thanked the County Executive for his leadership

and great concern for all associates and citizens of Jackson County, Missouri.

Dan Tarwater III, County Legislator, extended Happy New Year wishes and said he looks forward to working with everyone this year.

Crissy Wooderson, Legislative Auditor, presented a 10 year service pin to Tom Wyrsch, Compliance Review Officer.

Comments made by Dan Tarwater III, Dennis Waits and Crystal Williams.

Crystal Williams thanked Theresa Galvin for being an amazing Vice Chair in 2016. She said Theresa Galvin is very detail oriented and focused on making sure we do our best and most efficient work for the people in Jackson County. An example of her efforts is that she worked with Human Resources and the County Executive to get a better deal for Jackson County associates with regards to health care premiums in 2017.

Crystal Williams also thanked everyone for the Children's Services Fund which will be in effect for the next 7 years, the Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP) and Tobacco 21, which were all important issues for Jackson County, Missouri. She was also proud to report that two stop signs were installed in Sibley, Missouri. She thanked everyone for the opportunity to serve as Chair of the Jackson County Legislature, she learned a great deal and she has enjoyed it.

She presented a plaque to Theresa Galvin for serving as Vice Chair for the Jackson County Legislature in 2016.

Theresa Galvin, Vice Chair, thanked Crystal Williams for all she did as a leader and expressed appreciation for everything she has taught her. She presented a plaque to Crystal Williams for serving as Chair for the Jackson County Legislature in 2016.

Scott Burnett, County Legislator, thanked Crystal and Theresa for the PDMP, the Community Children's Services Fund, Tobacco 21 and reduced health care premiums. He also thanked Winifred Jamieson, legislative aide to Crystal Williams, for all her hard work as well.

Crystal Williams opened nominations for Chair of the Jackson County Legislature for 2017.

Dennis Waits nominated Scott Burnett.

Since there were no other nominations, nominations ceased.

A motion was made by Dennis Waits, seconded by Greg Grounds, to elect Scott Burnett as Chairman of the Jackson County Legislature for 2017 by acclamation. The motion passed by a voice vote.

Scott Burnett assumed the Chair and opened nominations for Vice Chair of the Jackson County Legislature for 2017.

Dan Tarwater III nominated Alfred Jordan.

Since there were no other nominations, nominations ceased.

A motion was made by Dan Tarwater III, seconded by Dennis Waits, to elect Alfred Jordan as Vice Chairman of the Jackson County Legislature for 2017 by acclamation. The motion passed by a voice vote.

6 PERFECTION OF PROPOSED ORDINANCES AND REPORTS OF COMMITTEE

None.

7 FINAL PASSAGE OF PROPOSED ORDINANCES

None.

8 RESOLUTIONS IN COMMITTEE

None.

9 CONSENT AGENDA

None.

10 INTRODUCTION OF PROPOSED ORDINANCES AND ASSIGNMENT TO COMMITTEE

None.

11 INTRODUCTION OF PROPOSED RESOLUTIONS AND ASSIGNMENT TO COMMITTEE

None.

12 COUNTY EXECUTIVE ORDERS

None.

13 UNFINISHED BUSINESS

None.

14 NEW BUSINESS

Scott Burnett, Chairman, thanked Beth Brubaker, his legislative aide, for all the social service work she performed in December 2016.

15 ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Dan Tarwater III, seconded by Dennis Waits, to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed by a voice vote.

Meeting adjourned until Monday, January 9, 2017 at 2:30 P.M. at the Eastern Jackson County Courthouse, 308 W. Kansas, Independence, Missouri, Ground Floor, Legislative Chambers.