

## Jackson County Missouri

Jackson County Courthouse 415 E.12th Street, 2nd floor Kansas City, Missouri 64106 (816)881-3242

## Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 21163 Version: 0 Name: Courtesy Congratulating Chief Super Bowl

Type: Resolution Status: Passed

File created: 2/13/2023 In control: County Legislature

On agenda: 2/14/2023 Final action: 2/14/2023

Title: A RESOLUTION congratulating the Kansas City Chiefs on winning Super Bowl LVII.

Sponsors: DaRon McGee, Megan L. Marshall, Jalen Anderson, Donna Peyton, Manuel Abarca IV, Venessa

Huskey, Charlie Franklin, Jeanie Lauer, Sean E. Smith

Indexes: COURTESY 2023, KANSAS CITY CHIEFS

**Code sections:** 

Attachments: 1. 21163adopted.pdf

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
2/14/2023	0	County Legislature	adopt	Pass

## IN THE COUNTY LEGISLATURE OF JACKSON COUNTY, MISSOURI

A RESOLUTION congratulating the Kansas City Chiefs on winning Super Bowl LVII.

**RESOLUTION NO. 21163, February 14, 2023** 

INTRODUCED BY DaRon McGee, Megan L. Marshall, Jalen Anderson, Donna Peyton, Manuel Abarca IV, Venessa Huskey, Charlie Franklin, Jeanie Lauer, and Sean E. Smith, County Legislators

WHEREAS, on February 12, 2023, the Kansas City Chiefs won Super Bowl LVII, held at State Farm Stadium in Glendale, Arizona, beating the Philadelphia Eagles with a final score of 38 to 35, and cementing their place as one of the NFL's premier franchises; and,

WHEREAS, Chiefs' quarterback Patrick Mahomes was named the Most Valuable Player (MVP) of Super Bowl LVII, in recognition of his outstanding performance and leadership during the game; and,

WHEREAS, Chiefs' tight end Travis Kelce and Philadelphia Eagles' center Jason Kelce became the

## File #: 21163, Version: 0

first brothers to face off in a Super Bowl, creating a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity for these brothers to compete against each other on the biggest stage in professional football; and,

WHEREAS, Super Bowl LVII featured two starting Black quarterbacks, with Patrick Mahomes leading the Kansas City Chiefs and Jalen Hurts leading the Philadelphia Eagles, a first in the history of the National Football League and a huge stride of progress for the sport; and,

WHEREAS, the Chiefs' victory was a tribute to their resilience, determination, and unmatched talent on both sides of the ball; and,

WHEREAS, the Chiefs' win inspired fans across the country and brought together communities in celebration of their team's achievements; and,

WHEREAS, the Kansas City Chiefs, under the leadership of Coach Andy Reid, have a rich history of success, winning numerous championships and providing excitement and entertainment for fans of all ages; and,

WHEREAS, the Chiefs' win was a testament to the hard work, dedication, and commitment of every player, coach, and staff member who contributed to this historic moment; and,

WHEREAS, this victory brought immense pride and joy to the citizens of Jackson County, as well as to the millions of Chiefs fans around the world; and,

WHEREAS, the Chiefs' Super Bowl win will be celebrated with a victory parade on Wednesday, February 15, 2023; now therefore,

File #: 21163, Version: 0
BE IT RESOLVED by the County Legislature of Jackson County, Missouri, that the Legislature does
hereby congratulate the Kansas City Chiefs on their Super Bowl victory, and commends them for
their hard work, dedication, and outstanding performance; and,
BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Legislature recognizes and celebrates Patrick Mahomes for
his MVP award in Super Bowl LVII, and commends him for his remarkable achievements and positive
impact on the sport of football and on our community.
Enacted and Approved Effective Date: This Resolution shall be effective immediately upon its passage by a majority of the Legislature.  APPROVED AS TO FORM:  Chief Deputy County Counselor  County Counselor
Office Bopaty County Country Country Country
Certificate of Passage
I hereby certify that the attached resolution, Resolution No. 21163 of February 14, 2023, was duly passed on February 14, 2023 by the Jackson County Legislature. The votes thereon were as follows:
Yeas <u>9</u> Nays <u>0</u>
Abstaining 0 Absent 0

Date

Mary Jo Spino, Clerk of Legislature